Follow the Leader

Psalm 18:32-33

It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect. He maketh my feet like hinds’ feet, and setteth me upon my high places.

How great are the mountaineering skills of deer and goat alike? Their ability to climb high up into the rockiest terrains and down into the deepest valleys, leaves you in awe. They do not fall, for fear does not shake them; they remain calm and at peace with their path.

They understand that they have to take this tumultuous journey to get from A to B. But it doesn’t detract them from putting forth their hooves and soldiering on.

Habakkuk 3:17-19

Although the fig tree shall not blossom, neither shall fruit be in the vines; the labour of the olive shall fail, and the fields shall yield no meat; the flock shall be cut off from the fold, and there shall be no herd in the stalls: Yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will joy in the God of my salvation. The Lord God is my strength, and He will make my feet like hinds’ feet, and He will make me to walk upon mine high places. To the chief singer on my stringed instruments.

The way they walk is key to their survival. Wherever their front hooves have stepped, their back hooves will also step, in exactly the same spot. They know if their back legs just follow their front legs, they will be able to travel safely through the dangerously steep mountain sides.

God is to be our front legs. Wherever He steps, we must follow, for we are on our rocky mountains of pain, hurt, and heartache. But if we trust in Him, and allow Him to lead, He will get us through it, and bring us peace.

We will not shake in fear, we will not look down, we just keep going forward following His steps as He weaves us through the dangerous terrain.

When we leave His path, we risk falling, we risk death. But so long as God is our leader, He is also our strength, and He will get us through the hard times.

Philippians 4:13

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

So follow the Leader, it’s life saving.

Leave a Reply

